Storytime Picks

These are some of the titles we have shared on Friday's Alphasaurus Preschool Storytime.

Sort by:

All for pie, pie for all

All for pie, pie for all

Martin, David, 1944-
2006

In this merry, multi-species story cooked up with folksy warmth and humor, everybody gets a piece of the pie -- and then some.

Grandma Cat makes a delicious apple pie, and there's plenty for everyone -- and even a piece left over. Grandma Mouse finds a piece of apple pie, and there's plenty for everyone -- and even crumbs left over. Grandma Ant spies some crumbs of apple pie, and there's plenty for everyone. But what's left over after cats, mice, and ants have had their fill? Little readers will eat up this scrumptious, gently math-related story that's as sweet and satisfying as a fresh-baked dessert.

Show More


Bear came along

Bear came along

Morris, Richard T., 1969- author
2019

An assortment of animals living separate lives discover they need each other when they have a chance encounter on a river.

Show More


The bear in my bed

The bear in my bed

Wan, Joyce, author, illustrator
2018

The Bear in My Bed , featuring Joyce Wan's sweet text and signature bold, graphic art, is a hilarious take on bedtime routines, sure to make sleepy little ones smile!

When a little boy goes into his room for bedtime, he finds out that his bed is already occupied--by a bear (who's not his teddy bear)! The bear makes a mess with toys, splashes water around the bathtub, and eats books instead of reading them. Not to mention that he doesn't know how to brush his teeth or wear pajamas! And how is anyone supposed to get any sleep with a bear taking up the whole bed?

Show More


Bear snores on

Bear snores on

Wilson, Karma, author
2002


Bigger than you

Bigger than you

Kyung, Hyewon, author
2018


Did you eat the parakeet?

Did you eat the parakeet?

Iacolina, Mark, author, illustrator
2018

A 2019 Buckeye Children's Award Nominee

A little girl can't find her parakeet--her kitty must have eaten it! Right? Where else would it have gone? It was just here! She shouts, she accuses, and she laments her loss. But her cat might be trying to tell her something . . .

With rhyming text and adorable art, Did You Eat the Parakeet? by Mark Iacolina is a sweet and silly picture book that will have children laughing through the final page.

Show More


The digger and the flower

The digger and the flower

Kuefler, Joseph, author, illustrator
2018

From the acclaimed author/artist of Beyond the Pond and Rulers of the Playground comes a breathtaking new book with a powerful message about the environment, perfect for fans of Peter Brown's The Curious Garden and Kadir Nelson's If You Plant a Seed.

Each day, the big trucks go to work. They scoop and hoist and push.

But when Digger discovers something growing in the rubble, he sets in motion a series of events that will change him, and the city, forever.

"This story contains bold graphic illustrations and a wonderful message about the environment," proclaims Brightly.com in their article "18 Must-Read Picture Books of 2018."

Show More


Dinosaur farm

Dinosaur farm

Preston-Gannon, Frann, author
2014



Drat that fat cat!

Drat that fat cat!

Thomson, Pat, 1939-
2003

A feline version of "There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Fly" that will simply trip off your tongue--with a shoutable read-aloud refrain!

Once there was a cat, a fat, fat cat.
But was that cat fat enough? NO, HE WAS NOT!

He ate up a rat. He swallowed a dog. He even had an old lady for dessert (it's about time SHE got eaten!). But was that cat fat enough? NO, HE WAS NOT!

The adventures of this omnivorous feline are sure to inspire laughter and have young readers chiming in with the refrain. So will children be satisfied with just one reading?
NO, THEY WILL NOT!

Show More


Good-night, Owl!

Good-night, Owl!

Hutchins, Pat, 1942-2017
1998

Owl can't get to sleep in Pat Hutchins's beloved Good-Night, Owl !

How is Owl supposed to sleep the day away with the bees buzzing, the woodpecker pecking, the doves cooing, and the squirrels crunching? But when night falls and everything is finally quiet, suddenly there's a new sound--and it's coming from Owl!

From author-illustrator Pat Hutchins, this cumulative bedtime story with a surprise ending will send little ones off to sleep with a smile.

Show More


Hats are not for cats!

Hats are not for cats!

Rayner, Jacqueline K., author, illustrator.
2019

Are hats for cats? A big, bossy dog and a determined cat disagree. This funny rhyming romp--with a large cast of cats and hats--leads readers to the perfect conclusion: hats are for everyone!

A big, severe, plaid-hat-wearing dog insists that the small black cat in the red fez shouldn't be wearing a hat--any kind of hat--because hats are for dogs. His patronizing tirade doesn't convince this cat, however. Defiantly, she wears an assortment of hats, described in the gleeful rhyming text, and brings in other cats to join the protest. The silliness of both text and pictures offers a cheerful take on bossiness and managing conflict, with a win-win resolution.

Show More


If you give a mouse a brownie

If you give a mouse a brownie

Numeroff, Laura Joffe, author
2016


Jump, frog, jump!

Jump, frog, jump!

Kalan, Robert
2003

A cumulative tale in which a frog tries to catch a fly without getting caught itself.

Show More


Plant the tiny seed

Plant the tiny seed

Matheson, Christie, author, illustrator
2017


Please, Mr. Panda

Please, Mr. Panda

Antony, Steve, author, illustrator
2015

What is the proper way to ask Mr. Panda for doughnuts?

Patiently and politely, Mr. Panda asks the animals he comes across if they would like a doughnut. A penguin, a skunk, and a whale all say yes, but they do not remember to say "please" and "thank you." Is anyone worthy of Mr. Panda's doughnuts?

In his debut picture book, Steve Antony has captured a cute panda, delightful animals hungry for doughnuts, and a manners lesson. With the black-and-white animals, plain backgrounds, and brightly coloured doughnuts, Antony's art is bold, striking, and engaging.

Show More


Rex wrecks it!

Rex wrecks it!

Clanton, Ben, 1988-, author, illustrator
2014


Stuck

Stuck

Jeffers, Oliver, author, illustrator
2011

Delightful chaos ensues when a young boy gets his kite stuck up a tree in this laugh-out-loud new picture book from award-winning, internationally best-selling author-illustrator Oliver Jeffers! Floyd gets his kite stuck up a tree. He throws up his shoe to shift it, but that gets stuck too. So he throws up his other shoe and that gets stuck, along with... a ladder, a pot of paint, the kitchen sink, an orang-utan and a whale, amongst other things! Will Floyd ever get his kite back? A hilarious book with a wonderful surprise ending.

Show More


Tap the magic tree

Tap the magic tree

Matheson, Christie, author, illustrator
2013


That fruit is mine!

That fruit is mine!

Allepuz, Anuska, 1979-, author, illustrator.
2018


There's a bear on my chair

There's a bear on my chair

Collins, Ross, author
2016

Poor Mouse! A bear has settled in his favorite chair, and that chair just isn't big enough for two. Mouse tries all kinds of tactics to move pesky Bear, but nothing works. Once Mouse has gone, Bear gets up and walks home. But what's that? Is that a mouse in Bear's house?

Show More


There's a dragon in your book

There's a dragon in your book

Fletcher, Tom, 1985- author
2018

OH NO! There's a dragon in this picture book by bestselling author, YouTube star, and musician Tom Fletcher--author of There's a Monster in Your Book ! A 2019 Children's Choice Award Honor Book (K-2nd grade).

First, there's an egg in your book. Then the cutest baby dragon you've ever seen hatches from it. But don't tickle its nose, and whatever you do, don't let it sneeze! ACHOO! OH MY!

Tom Fletcher's infectious read-aloud invites kids to use their powers of imagination--along with some stamping, blowing, and flapping--to save their book from an adorable little dragon's flammable sneezes! Children will be delighted to participate in this satisfying tale, a sequel to There's a Monster in Your Book .

The bestselling author of The Dinosaur That Pooped series has once again paired up with illustrator Greg Abbott to create another creature that readers will fall in love with--and want to play with--again and again! Tom Fletcher has a huge social-media presence with over a million followers on Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube. His videos "Buzz and the Dandelions" and "My Wedding Speech" went viral and have been viewed tens of millions of times all over the world.

Show More


This is a ball

This is a ball

Stanton, Beck, author
2017

The Books That Drive Kids CRAZY! series capitalizes on the trend of interactive picture books--it's all about giving parents, teachers, and storytellers a script for fun reading time together. Book 2, This Is a Ball , is a boldly absurd spin-off of concept books, and an audaciously contrarian invitation for readers to practice deadpan delivery: after all, the picture on the cover clearly shows a cube, not a ball. The page that declares a princess is flying a kite at the beach shows an alien holding a balloon in a city...and on and on. What is WRONG with this silly book? Kids will demand to know--and all readers will be howling with laughter all along the way. With strikingly simple text and art, Books That Drive Kids CRAZY! are perfect picks for emergent readers.

Future books in the series, releasing two per year, have equally funny-yet frustrating premises: Did You Take the B from My _ook? and Wait Wait WAIT!

Show More


Triceratops stomp

Triceratops stomp

Patkau, Karen, author, illustrator
2019

"A nest of baby dinosaurs hatches deep in the forest and the little dinos immediately begin scampering and playing. When a T-Rex threatens the hatchlings, their fierce mother Triceratops scares it away, and the tired babies settle in for a nap."-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


Where is bear?

Where is bear?

Bentley, Jonathan, author, illustrator
2016

Perfect for fans of the classic We're Going on a Bear Hunt, this adventurous and endearing picture book follows a little boy searching high and low for his missing bear. Features a surprise ending!

Where is Bear?
Is Bear in the dresser?
Is Bear in the bathroom?
Is Bear on the swing?

It's almost bedtime, and a little boy can't seem to find his beloved Bear! Children will love joining in the irresistible search for Bear and finding where he is on every page . . . and they will love the surprise ending even more!

Praise for Where is Bear !

"Giggle-inducing clues make this book an interactive reading delight . . .
Reminiscent of a Mo Willems story." - School Library Journal

"An inventive twist on the familiar lost-teddy story." - Kirkus Reviews

Show More